Being beautiful

beautifulYesterday I got like 11 hours of sleep and woke up with warm, snuggly cats all wrapped around me. After I had breakfast, I went for an 8-mile run. It was quite cold outside and the path was slippery in spots, but the run went fairly well and I felt good about doing it. I showered and went to the coffee shop, then went to the grocery store and the fabric store before finally going home to watch movies and make chili.

It was a fairly insignificant day in my life, but for some reason I felt so beautiful. Maybe it was the endorphins or the sunshine, maybe the gorgeous orange wool vintage coat I got for $20 at a shop near my apartment, or possibly it was my sassy new haircut and the frosty pink lipstick I got before Christmas. Perhaps all of those things contributed to the fact that I felt really happy to be me.

Wouldn’t it be great if we all felt beautiful (or handsome or confident or enthusiastic or special or loved or content) every day of our lives? Even on bad hair days? Even when we haven’t had enough sleep or worked out in a long time? Even when we’re upset with someone or someone is upset with us? Even when the sun isn’t shining?

Let’s try.

What do you think about what/who/how I'm being?

