Becoming THAT person

In a few days, I will wrap up my first Whole30. I have been eating better in the last few weeks than I ever have in my life. I eat delicious, nutrient-dense, unprocessed foods, and I eat A LOT of them. While I am not yet sleeping well (a benefit I hoped to enjoy), I have more energy and have lost several pounds and inches.

But I’ve become THAT food person.

On Sunday I cooked a fridge full of food for the upcoming week. I browned some ground turkey and added chili powder, paprika, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, cumin, salt, and pepper. I call it “chorizo” but of course that’s not what it is. I eat about an ounce of it almost every morning in an omelet with pumpkin seed pesto. I also browned some grass fed organic beef which I use in a variety of dishes, but my favorite is in soup with homemade bone broth, diced carrot, onion, and sweet potato, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. The recipe is in “It Starts With Food.”

veggies

I parboiled diced white and red sweet potatoes (yams) and then sauteed them with some Brussels sprouts and kale, a recipe I recreated after having the Sweet Potato Hash at Common Roots Cafe in Minneapolis. They serve theirs with a carrot sauce. I roasted carrots with onion and garlic in olive oil and pureed that with a bit of vegetable stock, but it was so damn good that I just ate it like soup and forgot to drizzle it on top of my hash.

And finally, I spiralized a few sweet potatoes and sliced up a red cabbage because at least once a week I eat a Whole30 Meatless Power Bowl that I found on the Physical Kitchness blog. It is cabbage, avocado, and sweet potato with a soft boiled egg and a dressing made with apple cider vinegar, almond butter (I use the Natural Grocer’s brand that they make in-house because it has no added sugar), and some olive oil. It is the most divine meal you can imagine, and my only complaint is that it’s difficult to get all the good flavors on your fork at one time.

In the past, I would scoff when friends would post pictures of their stacks of “Sunday food prep” containers and brag about the meals they’d prepared. I would turn my nose up at anyone who lauded the health benefits of bone broth, gagging at the idea of drinking warm brown liquid that wasn’t coffee. And while I generally bought good quality foods, I thought organic and grass-fed were nothing more than marketing gimmicks.

Now I am that person who preps on Sunday and shops carefully, and I like this person. I try not to get all social media about it, because I know that I used to be so jealous of people who had the time, energy, and money to eat in a way I thought I could not. But if you want to talk about good food, or come and eat with me, I’m excited to share!

What do you think about what/who/how I'm being?

